DUI in North Carolina: What You Need to Know When Pulled Over
The number of North Carolinians arrested for Driving While Impaired (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) every year is staggering. Every driver knows while sober that they should not drink and drive, and yet, in the fiscal year of 2016-2017, nearly 34,000 NC drivers were convicted for driving while impaired.
In North Carolina, by law, drivers who have a blood alcohol concentration or BAC of 0.08% are considered alcohol impaired. Drivers are also considered to be driving while impaired if they driving while under the influence of drugs, as well as alcohol. Sobriety checkpoints are legal in the state of North Carolina. If you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI, here is what you can expect.
You will need to show your driver’s license and your vehicle registration, and the officer may ask you to step out of your vehicle. You will probably be asked to perform a preliminary sobriety test and breath test. You have the right to refuse to take the tests, but you need to know that in the state of North Carolina, when you refuse a sobriety test or breathalyzer test, you can lose your driver’s license automatically for a year. At the very least, if you refuse the test, your driver’s license will be revoked for 30 days and the officer who pulled you over could still require you to take a blood test, which you cannot refuse.
If your sobriety test shows an alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, then your license will be revoked immediately for 30 days while you await trial. Your vehicle may be seized, especially if you have no license or registration on you at the time of your arrest. You may be escorted to jail, where your mug shot will be taken. North Carolina also reserves the right to impose a fine of up to $10,000 on DUI or DWI offenders.
Laws and convictions for DWI or DUI vary from state to state. North Carolina has an aggressive conviction rate for DUI or DWI offenders. Around 60% of North Carolina residents who are arrested for driving while impaired are convicted. However, roughly 40% are not. The difference in your case could be the law firm you choose to represent you. At the Beaver Law Firm, we will fight for you.
If you are going to drink, do not drink and drive. If you find yourself facing a DUI or DWI conviction, give us a call and let us help you.